Cabrinha KSP Maui 2013 Day 5 Finals // Strapless Kitesurfing

Kai and Keahi



Congrats Keahi and Moona ! The Cabrinha team riders hold the 1st places at the KSP Maui 2013


Ho’okipa Beach, Maui, Hawaii – November 26, 2013:

The fifth and final day of the Cabrinha Kite Surf Pro Maui kicked off with blasting trade winds and overhead surf. Men’s and Women’s champions were crowned today on Maui’s north shore following an intense day of competition.

The women’s quarterfinalists were up first in a building northwest swell and solid trade winds. Advancing into the semi-finals were Moona Whyte (HI/Cabrinha), Ines Correia (POR/RRD), Jalou Langeree (NED) and Milla Ferreira (BRA/F-One). Whyte and Langeree went on to dominate their semi-final heats to set up an epic re-match of last year’s world tour finals.

Surviving the quarterfinal rounds on the men’s side were Airton Cozzolino (ITA/North), Keahi DeAboitiz (AUS/Cabrinha), Kai Lenny (HI) and Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA). Cozzolino and DeAboitiz battled in the first semifinal with DeAboitiz keeping his world championship dreams alive by narrowly defeating the young Italian. In the second semifinal, Maui local Kai Lenny bested an on-fire Ribeiro with his consistent and committed riding.

Between the semi finals and finals of the world championships a heat of legendary proportions was run. Pete Cabrinha (USA/Cabrinha), Robby Naish (USA), Flash Austin (USA), Elliot Leboe (USA/Cabrinha), Alex Aguera (HI/Ozone) and Brett Lickle (USA/Cabrinha) hit the water in a showcase featuring the founding pioneers of the sport on Maui. A huge crowd lined the shore to witness the 20-minute super-heat featuring the heroes of the sport.

“It was fun to get out there in a heat with a select few guys who have been instrumental in the development and progression of the sport of kiteboarding on Maui”, said Pete Cabrinha. “We all had a blast out there.”

The Cabrinha Kite Surf Pro finals were held in epic Ho’okipa conditions. On the men’s side, reigning KSP World Champion Keahi DeAboitiz (AUS/Cabrinha) met local Maui hero Kai Lenny (HI) to determine who would be the 2013 KSP World Champion. By the time the final horn sounded, no one on the beach knew who had won the heat. It wasn’t until the prize giving ceremony that De Aboitiz learned that he had successfully defended his world title narrowly defeating the young Hawaiian.

“I was really stoked to take the win for the second year in a row,” said DeAboitiz. “I couldn’t be happier, really. We had some really fun waves and I had a great time out there.”

The women’s final was contested in equally epic surf and the highly anticipated rematch between Whyte and Langeree was a battle for the ages. Both riders were powerful and fluid but in the end, Whyte defeated Langeree to defend her title here at Ho’okipa and claim the 2013 World Championship title.

“It was really close in the final against Jalou and it could have gone either way, but I’m stoked it went my way,” said new KSP World Champion Whyte.

Following the KSP world championship finals the focus shifted to the Xensr Big Air Invitational. The 12 invited male and 3 female riders were sent out on the water with a gps based Xensr measuring device that measures the hight of each riders jumps to within 3mm. The Xensr Big Air Invitational final was won by Jon McCabe (Hi/Ozone) over Jesse Richman (HI) in second and Charles Edwards (HI/North) in third. The highest jump of the day, however, belonged to Shawn Richman (HI) with a height of 45.42 feet.

The women’s Big Air was won by Jalou Langeree (NED) over second place finisher Raquel Lima (HI) with Skylar Lickle (HI) in third.

Wrapping up the final day’s action were the men’s and women’s finals of the Kama’aina Throwdown. Rafal Malezyk took top spot in the Kama’aina men’s division over second place Garfield King with Wes Anderson in third. In the women’s division it was youngster Skylar Lickle taking the win with Michelle Crompton in second and Tatiana Howard in third place.




Cabrinha Kite Surf Pro Men’s Final Results:

1st Keahi De Aboitiz (AUS, Cabrinha)

2nd Kai Lenny (HI)

3rd Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA)

4th Airton Cozzolino (ITA, North)

5th Mitu Monteiro (CPV, F-One)

5th Cruser Putnam (HI, Cabrinha)

5th Paulino Pereira (PRT, Cabrinha)

5th Pedro Henrique (BRA)

9th Matchu Lopes (CPV, North)

9th Jeremy Lentz (FRA, F-One)

9th Enrico Giordano

9th Sky Solbach (HI, North)

9th Filippe Ferreira (BRA, F-One)

9th Djo Silva (CPV, F-One)

9th Patri McLaughlin (HI, North)

9th Etienne Lhote (FRAU, F-One)

17th Sergey Mysovskiy (RUS)

17th Jesse Richman (HI)

17th Johnny Berger (USA, Cabrinha)

17th Devin Moody (HI, North)

17th Rafal Malezyk (POL)

17th Tiago Candelot (BRA)

17th Matthew Elsassar (USA, Cabrinha)

17th Ralph Boelen (FRA, North)



Cabrinha Kite Surf Pro Women’s Final Results:

1st Moona Whyte (HI, Cabrinha)

2nd Jalou Langeree (NED, Naish)

3rd Milla Ferreira (BRA, F-One)

4th Ines Correia (POR)

5th Kristin Boese (GER)

5th Skylar Lickle (HI)

5th Suzanne Kuiper (NED, F-One)

5th Kalia Aguera (HI)

9th Erika Lindberg (SWE)

9th Rawuel Lima (BRA)

9th Isa Cohen (USA)

9th Carol Bolstad (USA)



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *